Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

THIS.BOOK.

This is another moment in my life that I am wondering why I waited so long to read this! This book was crazy good! I was instantly captivated by the characters and the storyline. I read this book in about 24hrs. It was such an easy read, full of action, love, death, and two of my favorite things. Sirens and Pirates. What’s not to love?

This book is the perfect summer read. I wish I had read it sitting on a beach, toes in the sand, the sound of the ocean in my ears. But alas I was sitting in my room, with the rainiest week we’ve had this year as my background. But that is why this book was so perfect. It transported me away from all that and made me feel like I was at the beach, or on a ship killing pirate scum. I’m not sure which I prefer.

Alosa has been called Lady Jack Sparrow in many reviews. I disagree. I think it’s unfair to compare this strong, loyal, and beautiful woman to a low life like Jack Sparrow. Where Jack is selfish Alosa is selfless, always putting her crew before herself. Where Jack relied on many others to do his work for him, Alosa worked hard. Trained under her brutal father to become the best of the best. Alosa is all her own type of person and no one category can hold her.

What is great about this book is that it has a great underlining meaning. Alosa, a woman who is the captain of her own ship, whose crew consists mostly of women, is a force to be reckoned with. She shows that woman can do things men can do, sometimes even better. She shows that woman can do anything they set out to do. This message is clear throughout the whole novel but it isn’t forced. It blends in seamless with the storyline to form one perfect book.

And let us not forget about the romance in this book. Riden is how does one say, the total package? Handsome, cocky, gentle, loving. The sexual tension that follows this couple around in the book makes me want to slap their heads together it was driving me insane! But that is what makes this book so good and so addicting. I can’t wait to see where their relationship will go in the second book!

It is sad that now I want to be a pirate?

Definitely check this book out as well as the second book in this duology, Daughter of the Siren Queen.

Add this book to your Goodreads! Buy it from Barnes & Noble or Amazon! And make sure you check out Tricia’s website! Follow this special link to read Chapter one from Ridens POV!

Until next time,

Keep on reading!

Erin.

Leave a comment